Connect with us


Williamson, Ajaz left out for Bangladesh series, Latham to lead Blackcaps

New Zealand named 13 man squad for Test series against Bangladesh. Regular skipper Kane Williamson will miss this series. Tom Latham will lead the team in two test matches.

Williamson missed second test match against India in India. He was doubtful for Bangladesh series and ultimately he will miss it. So, Latham will be leading New Zealand in a full test series for the first time. The wicketkeeper batter earlier lead the team for one or two matches of a series in absence of Williamson.

New Zealand also omitted Ajaz Patel for Bangladesh series. Ajaz recently did very well with the ball in India tour. But they omitted Ajaz from home series for team combination.

“It’s great to be back home and at venues we know well, and where we’ve had success in recent times. It’s obviously disappointing not to have Kane available for this series but, as we noted in India, he is undergoing a sustained period of rest followed by rehabilitation, strengthening and gradual batting loading. We have every confidence in Tom leading the side – he’s done an excellent job in the past when called upon,” said head coach Gary Stead.

Stead also said, “You do feel for Ajaz after his record-breaking display in India, However, we’ve always applied a horses-for-courses selection policy and believe the players selected best fit the way we want to take on Bangladesh here at home. We feel having both Rachin and Daryl in the squad gives us a nice balance and the ability to pick a side best suited to the conditions we expect.”

Squad: Tom Latham (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Will Young

More in Cricket