Connect with us


Why Tamim-Shoriful not in the squad?


CRICDOT DESK : Bangladesh cricketers have played 362 Tests. For the first time since gaining Test status, Bangladesh has started the series ahead of South Africa.

Tiger Test captain Mominul Haque won the toss and elected to field. Opener Tamim Iqbal is not in the XI. Because the opener with experience of playing 64 Tests is suffering from stomach ailment.

Earlier, Tamim Iqbal could not play in the Test against Zimbabwe in July last year due to injury. He also missed the Test series against Pakistan at home at the end of last year. Couldn’t go on tour to New Zealand in January. After a long absence, the country’s best opener was about to return to the Test XI.

READ MORE: Bangladesh is not ordinary team anymore: Dean Elgar

Bangladesh XI
Sadman Islam, Mahmudul Joy, Nazmul Shant, Muminul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das (wicket keeper), Yasir Rabbi, Mehdi Miraj, Taskin Ahmed, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadat Hossain.

South African XI
Dean Elgar, Sarel Irwin, Keegan Peterson, Ryan Rickillton, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Varaine (Wicketkeeper), One Mulder, Simon Harmer, Keshab Maharaj, Dwayne Olivier, Lizard Williams.

More in Cricket