Connect with us


South Africa Whitewash India and creates history!

South Africa Whitewash India and creates history!

                                                                                         Image : Internet

Cricdot Desk : South Africa has thrashed the visiting Indian side  set by beating them in a close match as the visiting side lost it with 4 runs. The Proteas whitewashed India in a three-match ODI series.

South Africa registered a case record as they broke the world record of Pakistan by winning this series.  So far, Pakistan has held the world record for whitewashing an opponent 20 times in at least a three-match ODI series.

India won the toss and elected to bowl first in a match to avoid whitewash in Cape Town, Newlands on Sunday.  The team led by Lokesh Rahul was able to keep the host team under pressure from the beginning.

But Quinton de Kock’s responsible batting helped South Africa pick up 26 runs with one ball to spare before being bowled out.

De Kock scored 124 runs.  Rishi van der Dussen and David Miller scored 52 and 39 runs respectively.

Chasing the target of 26 runs, Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli got India back in the game after losing the wicket of captain Lokesh Rahul by 16 runs.  They made a pair of 96 runs in the second wicket.  After that India lost wickets at regular intervals.

India lost the wickets of recognized batsmen like Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Panth, Virat Kohli, Sreyash Iyer, Suraikumar Yadav by 210 runs and practically dropped out of the match.

READ MORE: India Elect To Bowl in last ODI to prevent whitewash Against South Africa

However, in the end, India went to the door of victory in the batting frenzy of Deepak Chahar.  Only 10 runs from 16 balls were needed at the end to win.

Lungi Ngidi bowled Deepak Chahar in the 47th over.  Deepak Chahar returned with 54 runs off 34 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes.

India needed just 6 runs to win the last over.  And the Proteas needed just one wicket.  Dwayne Pitorias bowled out Yuzbendra Chahal in the last over to give South Africa a 4-run victory.

Short score

South Africa: 283/10 runs in 49.5 overs (De Kock 124, Dusen 52, Miller 39, Dwayne Pitorias 20, Aiden Markoram 15; Famous 3/59).

India: 287/10 in 49.2 overs (Virat Kohli 65, Shikhar Dhawan 61, Deepak Chahar 54, Suraiya Kumar Yadav 39, Sreyash Iyer 28; Lungi Ngidi 3/56, Andil 3/40, Dwayne Pitorias 2)

Result: South Africa won by 4 runs.

South Africa won the three-match ODI series 3-0.

More in Cricket