Connect with us

Bangladesh Cricket

Shakib’s Mid region becomes champion of independence cup!

Shakib's Mid region becomes champion of independence cup!

Shakib’s Mid region becomes champion of independence cup!

CRICDOT DESK : Mid Region won the title by defeating South Zone by 7 wickets in the Independence Cup final. Soumya Sarkar reached the victory port in 42.3 overs losing 4 wickets in reply to South Zone’s  163 runs. Earlier, Madhyanchal also won the BCL title in the four-day event.

Playing at the Sylhet International Stadium with a target of 164 runs, the opening pair scored 75 runs in the middle. At that time, Nasum Ahmed was the victim of 26 runs from 29 balls. Central lost 4 wickets for 6 runs. Mosaddeq-Al Amin left the field after winning the match by averaging 6 runs. Opener Mizanur Rahman scored 39 and Soumya Sarkar 21 runs. Al Amin made 57 off 60 balls with 6 fours. 33 runs came from 75 balls from the beach bat.

READ MORE: ICC to announce T20 World Cup schedule soon

Nasum took three wickets for the South alone. Mehedi Hasan Rana got one wicket.

Earlier, after losing the toss, the South bowlers were bowled out for 163 in the middle innings. Pinak Ghosh has scored the highest 35 runs for the southern region. Besides, Nahidul Islam scored 31, Amit Hasan 29 and Enamul Haque Vijay 20 runs.

Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Soumya Sarkar, Hasan Murad, Nazmul Islam Apu and Mrityunjay Chowdhury Nipun took two wickets each for the middle order.

More in Bangladesh Cricket