Connect with us


Security tightens as West Indies arrives Pakistan!

West Indies arrives Pakistan!

CRICDOT DESK : The West Indies cricket team arrived in Pakistan on Thursday. Local authorities hope to bring the bitter memories of the New Zealand tour canceled for safety reasons. Windies will play three T20Is and three One Day International in the port city of Karachi from Monday, the first visit since 2018. I became a security guard.
The series took place three months after New Zealand’s first tour in 18 years, just before the opening game began following a security warning.

Following this was England’s decision to cancel the men’s and women’s team visits scheduled for October. Pakistani officials were angry with the cancellation, claiming security was harsh.
After a terrorist attack on a bus carrying a Sri Lankan team in Lahore in 2009, the country of cricket enthusiasts has long been away without an international team visiting.

Pakistan had to play its own international matches abroad, primarily in the United Arab Emirates, until 2015, when normal service was temporarily resumed. The West Indies team is a bit understaffed as regulars Evin Lewis, Simron Hetmier, Andre Russell and Lendl Simmons have dropped out for personal reasons.

Former skipper Jason Holder is resting while Fabian Allen and Orbed McCoy are out for an injury. Last week, Captain Kieron Pollard also retired due to a hamstring injury, leaving Twenty20 to Nicholas Pooran and ODI’s Shai Hope. Late Thursday, four players, Akeal Hosein, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes and Odean Smith, will join the team. The three T20Is will take place on December 13, 14 and 16 and the ODI will take place on December 18, 20 and 22.

T20I Team: Nicholas Pourin (Captain), Shy Hope, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominique Drakes, Akir Hossein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudekesh Moti, Romario Shepherd , Odean Smith, Ocean Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr. Rovman Powell

ODI Team: Shai Hope (Captain), Nicholas Pooran, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr., Devon Thomas

More in Cricket