Connect with us


Root-Ashwin-Karunaratne nominated for ICC Men’s Test Player

Root-Ashwin-Karunaratne nominated for ICC Men’s Test Player

CRICDOT DESK :The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced candidates for the Men’s Test Player of the Year. The cricket governing body announced on Tuesday that the list of finalists for the ICC Awards 2021 will be announced starting December 28th. The Board has decided to nominate candidates for the Men’s Test Player for the Annual Awards on Tuesday. Four players have been nominated for the coveted Awards- Joe Root, Ravichandran Ashwin and Dimuth Karunaratne .

Despite the disappointing end of the year with the defeat of the Ash, England’s captain Root has made a list and is also one of the award favorites after having a great year on the racket. Root is the top run scorer for this year’s test cricket, recording 1708 runs in 15 games over the 6th century. The British team didn’t have much of an impact on this year’s Red Ball Cricket, but Root had the best time of his life at the bat.

Ace Spinner R Ashwin was a huge success with rackets and balls in 2021. Veteran spinners have won 52 wickets in eight games this year and have the opportunity to add more to their balance sheet in Boxing Day tests in India and South Africa. Africa. He played a central role in the first campaign of the Indian Test World Cup, which was defeated in the final. Ashwin, on the other hand, was unable to enter the XI test series in England. All-rounders also reached the first century and spent a decent year with an average of 28.08 337 run rackets.

Jamison played a central role in the team’s victory at the World Test Championship, adding great value to New Zealand’s tempo attack. Pacemakers have won 27 wickets in five games this year, averaging 17.51. He was also named Man of the Match in the WTC final with seven wickets.

Carna Ratne led the Sri Lankan team from scratch that year, scoring 902 runs in seven games at 69.38 over the 4th century. The stylish prelude counterattacked South Africa, Bangladesh and the West Indies to rejuvenate Sri Lankan cricket.

The official Team of the Year for the ICC will be announced on January 17th and 18th. On January 23, individual prices for women’s cricket will be announced. The Men’s Award, Spirit of Cricket Award and Umpire of the Year Award will be announced on January 24th.

More in Cricket