Connect with us


Rohit Sharma reinstated as Test captain, Rahane-Pujara omitted

Batsman like Kohli is always necessary: Rohit after becoming captain


CRICDOT DESK : After losing the Test series in South Africa, Virat Kohli suddenly announced his resignation. So after two formats of limited overs, Rohit has been declared as the permanent captain in Tests as well. Within a few months, the leadership of India’s three formats was in the hands of L. Rohit Sharma.

The selectors of Team India announced Rohit as the captain at a press conference on Saturday. The squad for the two-Test series against Sri Lanka has also been announced.

There are several surprises in the announced Test squad. Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma and Riddhiman Saha have been dropped from the squad. All four were senior cricketers and regular members of the Test team. Among them was India’s co-captain Ajinkya Rahane, who captained Australia to an incredible series win.

READ MORE: James Faulkner leaves PSL citing fraudlent from PSL franchise!

India’s Test squad for the Sri Lanka series at a glance

Rohit Sharma (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Bihari, Shubman Gill, Rishav Punt (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin (as long as Javad, fit) , Kuldeep Yadav, Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Sourav Kumar.

More in Cricket