Connect with us


Munim Shahriar and Shahidul Islam called up for T20 squad


CRICDOT DESK : Munim Shahriar, a close follower of cricket, is familiar with the name. However, Munim has sought wide recognition across the country in the eighth edition of the recently concluded BPL. The young opener is the biggest achievement of the tournament in the eyes of Shakib Al Hasan. Munim has caught everyone’s attention in the jersey of Fortune Barisal led by Shakib. He batted fearlessly in the opening. That is what fascinates cricket fans.

There is always a lack of such people in the top order of Bangladesh T20 team. The selectors’ eyes are also on the 23-year-old. Mymensingh’s son Munim is batting in that match in BPL.

If all goes well, he will be called up for Bangladesh’s T20 squad for the two-match series against Afghanistan. Sources related to the national team confirmed the matter yesterday. The team management wants to test Munim who has scored 16 runs in 6 matches in BPL. The selectors will announce the T20 team this week.

READ MORE: Sri Lanka save last match to prevent whitewash!

Munim got a chance in the HP team after performing for Abahani in the Dhaka Premier League T20 last year. This time, however, he did not get a team at the beginning of BPL. Later Barisal included him in the team. He was dismissed for 1 run in his BPL debut. He has gained popularity by batting in the next few matches. Munim failed to open the scoring in the final match.

Since then, the selectors will have to bear less criticism if this young man, who has performed in only 4 matches, is included in the team. However, Munim is unlikely to make his debut in the Afghan series. Because regular opener Naeem Sheikh will be in the T20 team even if he fails in BPL. Liton Das, who was dropped after last year’s World Cup defeat, is returning to the format against the Afghans.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced a 14-member squad for the three-match T20 series against Afghanistan. BPL Matano Munim Shahriar has got a chance in the team as a new face.

Bangladesh T20 squad
Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Liton Kumar Das, Munim Shahriar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Sheikh Mahedi Hasan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury Rabbi, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shariful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shahidul Islam and Mohammad Naeem .

More in Cricket