Connect with us


Mrityunjay Chowdhury picks first hattrick of BPL-22

Cricdot Desk: Mrityunjay Chowdhury become the first bowler to pick up a hat trick in the ongoing eight edition of BPL. Chittagong Challengers defeated Sylhet Sunrisers by 18 runs in the twelfth match of the eighth edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).  The first hat-trick of the match was scored by Chittagong fast bowler Mrityunjay Chowdhury, who played his debut match.

After losing the toss at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong, the hosts scored 202 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.  Will Jacques, who got off to a great start, hit a half-century off 16 balls, the second fastest half-century in BPL history, the fastest this season.

Read More: CRICKETAustralia coach Langer gets Hall of Fame honour

His innings of 52 off 19 balls laid the foundation for a big collection.  Then Afif Hossain Dhruvar’s unbeaten innings of 36 off 26 balls (1 four and 3 sixes), Sabbir Rahman’s unbeaten innings of 31 off 29 balls (31 fours) and Benny Howell’s 41 off 21 balls.  Mehdi Hasan Miraj remained unbeaten after playing a cameo of 13 runs off 4 balls.

Sylhet lost to Lendl Simmons in the first innings.  Enamul Haque Vijay and Colin Ingram put on a 112-run partnership for the second wicket.  Ingram was dismissed for 50 off 36 balls but Vijay continued to bat.

However, Ravi Bopara’s 12-ball 15-run innings could not accompany the victory.  Vijay took 10 runs from the first 2 balls of Mrityunjay Chowdhury in the 18th over.  In the next 3 deliveries, Mrityunjay scored the first hat trick of the event by dismissing Vijay, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat and Ravi Bopara.  Mrityunjay, who became the sixth Bangladeshi bowler to score a T20 hat-trick, came up with the sixth hat-trick of BPL.

In the end, Sylhet lost 6 wickets in 20 overs and collected 18 runs.  Chittagong won by 16 runs.  The maximum 6 runs comes from the victory bat.  He hit 9 fours and 3 sixes off 46 balls.  Mrityunjay took three wickets and Nasum Ahmed two for Chittagong.

More in Cricket