Connect with us

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL)

Minister Dhaka puts challenging target for Khulna Tigers

Minister Dhaka puts challenging target for Khulna Tigers


CRICDOT DESK : Minister Dhaka and Khulna Tigers have met in the second match of the eighth edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). Khulna Tigers got the toss in the high voltage match. Khulna Tigers captain Mushfiqur Rahim decided to field first after winning the toss. Mahmudullah will bat first in the Riyadh-led Dhaka match.

Minister Dhaka took the charge from very beginning and put on a big challenging score of 183 runs. Mohammad Shahzad scored 42 runs from the opening pair and other opener Tamim Iqbal picked his first fifty.

In the opening over, the duo picked up 69 runs in 8 overs. However, Shahzad had to return to the dressing room with the first ball of the 9th over. Before the Afghan opener returned to the dressing room, he made 42 runs off 27 balls and hit six fours. After his departure, Tamim tried to speed up the run.

Tamim played 41 balls to complete the 41st century of his T20 career. His great innings stops with the next ball. Tamim hit 6 fours in an innings of 50 off 42 balls.

Tamim and Shahzad got off to a good start. Then the run speed of Dhaka became a bit slow. Naeem Sheikh returned with 9 off 11 balls and Andre Russell with 6 off 3 balls. Both of them hit sixes one by one.

However, after setting the wicket, Riyadh attacked the bowlers of Khulna. Before returning to the dressing room in the last over, he tackled 20 balls, in which he hit 2 fours and 3 sixes and scored 39 runs. Although Zahurul Islam Ami was dismissed for 12 off 11 balls, Dhaka lost 6 wickets for 183 runs in 20 overs with the help of 9 off 4 balls of Shubhagata Hom and 7 off 2 balls of Isuru Udana.

For Khulna, Kamrul Islam Rabbi has taken three wickets alone, though he has scored 45 runs in 4 overs. Thisara Perera got a wicket.

This is the first match between Dhaka and Khulna. Minister Dhaka, which is owned by Minister Group, is participating in BPL for the first time. The Khulna Tigers, however, have experience in the game. The team was runner-up in the last edition under the leadership of Mushfiqur Rahim. Mushfiqur is leading the team again.

READ MORE:  Fortune Barisal thrashes Chattrogram Challengers

Dhaka will not get star pacer Mashrafe bin Murtaza in their opening match. The three foreigners in the team’s XI are Mohammad Shehzad of Afghanistan, Isuru Udana of Sri Lanka and Andre Russell of the West Indies.

In the Khulna Tigers, West Indies’ Andre Fletcher, Sri Lanka’s Thisara Perera and Afghanistan’s Naveen Ul Haq will play in the foreign quota.

Minister Dhaka
Mahmudullah Riyadh (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Naeem Sheikh, Zahurul Islam Ami, Shubhagat Home Chowdhury, Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain, Ebadat Hossain Chowdhury, Mohammad Shehzad, Isuru Udana and Andre Russell.

Khulna Tigers
Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Andre Fletcher, Tanjid Hasan Tamim, Roni Talukder, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Thisara Perera, Sheikh Mehedi Hasan, Farhad Reza, Suhrawardy Shuvo, Naveen Ul Haq and Kamrul Islam Rabbi.

More in Bangladesh Premier League (BPL)