Connect with us

Bangladesh Cricket

Mehedy Miraz finds place in best XI of transformed stars!

Mehedy Miraz


CRICDOT DESK : The International Cricket Council (ICC) has named 11 cricketers who have become one of the stars of the national team in the Under-19 stage.

Naturally, two of the best star batsmen of the time, Virat Kohli and Babar Azam, have been named in that XI.

Bangladesh spin-all-rounder Mehedi Hasan Miraj has also been placed next to the two India-Pakistan captains.

Also in the XI are Caribbean hard hitter Shimron Hetmeyer, Pakistan pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi and Proteas pacer Kagiso Rabada.

Eun Morgan, the one-time under-19 English captain, is also in the XI. English star Chris Oakes and Sri Lankan batsman Dinesh Chandimal got the place.

The ICC did not like Kohli or Babar Azam as the leader of the entire XI. Kiwi star Ken Williamson, the captain who won the ICC Test Championship, has been named the captain of the XI.

READ MORE: Ottis Gibson not to renew his contract with BCB!

The ICC report on Miraj’s inclusion in the XI said, “Like Hetmeyer, Miraj was the captain at the 2016 U-19 World Cup. In the semi-final against the West Indies, he went down to No. 8 with 60 runs and took two wickets as an opener with the ball. He had 12 wickets with four fifties in the tournament. He made his international cricket debut the same year. He has taken 18 international wickets and has more than 1,000 runs in Tests after six years.

Take a look at the ICC’s favorite XI:

Babar Azam, Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Ken Williamson (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Eoin Morgan, Shimron Hetmeyer, Mehdi Hassan Miraj, Chris Oakes, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Kagiso Rabada

More in Bangladesh Cricket