Connect with us


India thrashes Sri Lanka and win T20 series


CRICDOT DESK : India secured the series by winning the second T20 match of the series against Sri Lanka by 6 wickets. At the same time, Rohit Sharma’s side won 11 consecutive Twenty20 matches in international cricket.

Afghanistan and Romania have a combined record of winning consecutive matches in T20 cricket. Both teams have won 12 matches each. The next record was held by Uganda and Afghanistan. This time Rohit Sharma joined the club which won 11 matches in a row with them.

India’s victory in the match against Afghanistan in the United Arab Emirates in 2021. After Scotland and Namibia, they whitewashed New Zealand and the West Indies at home. Meanwhile, they have already won two of the ongoing three-match T20 series against Sri Lanka. If they can whitewash them in the last match, India will reach the clubs of Afghanistan and Romania. In other words, India will set a record of winning matches in a row.

After a 72-run victory over Sri Lanka in the first T20, the hosts lost the second match of the series by 8 wickets to Dharamsala on Saturday by Shreyas Ayyar and Jadeja’s batting prowess.

In the second T20 match of the series in Himachal Pradesh on Saturday (February 28), Sri Lanka lost five wickets at the end of the stipulated over in the Nisanka-Shanaka storm to collect 183 runs. In reply, India reached the target with 2.5 overs to spare, relying on Ayyar’s impeccable 84 and Jadeja’s devastating 45-run innings. Among the Sri Lankan bowlers, Lahiru Kumara took two wickets for 31 runs. Dushmantha Chamira spent 39 runs to take the remaining one wicket.

Earlier, India lost Rohit’s wicket at the beginning of the chase. The Indian captain, who had scored 44 runs in the previous match, returned with just one run. Another Indian opener Ishan Kisan could not take advantage. He made 18 runs off 15 balls. After that Shreyas Ayre came to the crease and took the helm of the team.

Sanju Samson made a pair of 84 runs with him. When Samson was dismissed for 39 off 25 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes, Jadeja came to the crease and started a riot. In the end, Ayre and Jadeja left the field to ensure the victory of the team. Ayre remained unbeaten on 74 off 44 balls with four fours and six fours. Jadeja, on the other hand, scored 45 off 16 balls with six fours and a six.

Earlier, Sri Lankan batsman Pathum Nisanka scored 85 runs off 53 balls with 11 fours in the first innings of the match. Dasun Shanaka, on the other hand, played an unbeaten 48 off 19 balls. His innings consisted of 5 sixes and 2 fours. Jaspreet Bumrah took 1 wicket for 24 runs for the home bowlers.

More in Cricket