Connect with us


DPL to lock horn from tommrrow !


CRICDOT DESK : The Dhaka Premier League (DPL) will be played from tomorrow after two seasons have been postponed due to the Kavid-19 epidemic. The league has been named ‘Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League’ on the occasion of the birth centenary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. Although it started in T20 format, DPL was postponed till the end of last year due to Corona. Earlier, the last 2019-20 was held in ODI format.

The all-time 50-over format is back after two seasons to the delight of the club and the fans. This will be the seventh DPL since the league got the ‘A’ status. The current champion Abahani will face Rupganj Tigers in the first match on the opening day keeping an eye on the hat-trick title. The match will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur. On the opening day, Prime Bank Cricket Club and City Club will play at BKSP-3 and Gazi Group Cricketers and Legends of Rupganj will play at BKSP-4.

Rupganj Tigers and City Club have qualified for the DPL from the first division this season. Instead of 12, 11 teams will compete for the trophy. Three-time runners-up Prime Doleshwar will not play in this year’s event. Officials said the Doleshwar management could not form the team properly before the league. As 11 teams will take part in the tournament, one team will be relegated instead of two. However, the bottom three teams in the league table will play in the relegation round.

READ MORE: Not Shakib, Rohit picks Ashwin as the best of all time

After two seasons, foreign players will be seen in this year’s DPL. However, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chief executive Nizam Uddin Chowdhury said they were embarrassed by the last-minute withdrawal of Doleshwar’s name. “We are embarrassed by this incident,” he said. Because they left the league at the last minute. The board will take necessary action against them. ‘

In the previous two editions, the Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis (CCDM) did not allow clubs to field foreign cricketers. This time they have allowed the clubs to play foreign players one by one. Almost all the clubs have taken advantage of the opportunity. Today, BCB has announced Walton as the title sponsor of the league. This is the tenth time in a row that Walton has received sponsorship. The official name of the league is ‘Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2021-2022 Sponsor by Walton’. ‘

More in Cricket